In an ideal world Jay, that should happen but take these forums for example, often non cuctomers ask support question in forums such as general chat, they are moved to technical support forums where the poster doesn't have permission to view. This happens at other forums too and that is why I have suggested it to help the original poster ond the moderating team :)
So you don't think it is annoying for the original poster to click on the link to the original topic to then see a message saying you do not have permission to see this topic when it has been moved to a forum they do not have permission to view and then the moderator(s) to get a PM saying why has their topic been moved and/or a new topic asking why has it been moved?
As there has been no responses, people must be thinking this isn't a good idea. Please let me know why it wouldn't be a good idea as all I can see is it helping the origianal poster (op) and the moderating team of the forums. Thanks.
When you move a topic to another forum, you can choose to keep a link in the originating forum.
A great feature would be to allow the original post to be shown with a reply from a moderator saying the reasons the topic has been moved.
This could be done with a checkbox option for choosing the moderators reply. The original post would be selected automatically.
Any other posts would only be shown in the topics new/moved loacation.
My reason for this is when topics are moved to a location thr poster doesn't have permission to view, they sometimes post a topic asking why my topic was moved or PM a moderator. Creating more work for the moderator and frustrating the poster.
A great feature that is going to help may, many people! Great work.
I like how you couldn't find how to change something and said you'll just leave that lol. Hopefully that element will be in the editor if it isn't already ;)
[quote name='Llesz' date='09 August 2010 - 03:58 PM'] Ahh groovy, dont remember being so excited about a release...I remember seeing an old thread about the .DS_Store files, we dont have to upload those do we, from memory?