Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Nexus - Suggestion

3 posts in this topic

Posted

Hello,

Per Rhett's request, I will post my suggestion(s) here.

Nexus is a great product when used as a store front, but the subscription management needs some help. This would be a pretty big re-work, but I bet that it would result in a lot of sales. Basically turning Nexus into a Membership management portal instead of a store front. This might require the need for a completely new addon, but Nexus has most of the framework in place.

As is, Nexus is item driven (i.e. shopping cart style). I've been managing a membership website since 2007. I've used everything under the sun. I 'think' with a little tooling, Nexus could be a very powerful membership management portal. IP suite provides all of the tools needed to run and maintain a membership site, with the exception of a back-end payment/management solution (that's a pretty big exception, lol...). I'll try to explain in 2 basic categories:

1. Subscriptions - a subscription should not be an "item or product". Rather, a subscription should be a controller or group for "items and products". This gets confusing to coders because the "subscription" still needs to be an "item" in the checkout process. Think of a subscription as an advanced "bundle" of items.