This has become a frequent issue for me over the past few months.
My entire subnet is currently blacklisted from Hotmail. I'm not on any major spam lists, but due to the fact that, according to Hotmail, users have repeatedly flagged messages from my IP.Board site as unwanted, I have been placed on a block.
I've been recommended to enroll in Microsoft's Junk Email Reporting Program..
Monitor user complaints. Windows Live Hotmail also has a sender complaint feedback loop program called the Junk Email Reporting Program (JMRP). Enrollment in this free program will benefit you as a sender as it will keep your email lists updated and populated with interested Windows Live Hotmail customers. This program will help you to remove those Windows Live Hotmail customers who do not want to receive emails from your company.
This seems like a fair solution. I get notified when people complain, then since they're
This is really both a question and, if the answer to my question is no, a suggestion.
Question: Can banned members still receive e-mails?
Automated or not. I don't like deleting entire user accounts. This is permanent, there's no way for these users to recover their accounts if they later wish to get them back. Second, it causes all of their posts to appear as posts from guests, which simply isn't very pretty and confusing to other members.
It would be nice if I could simply "deactivate" user accounts. What would this mean?
- When the user tries to log into the site, they get a message stating their account has been deactivated with instructions on how to request reactivation if they so wish. They cannot otherwise use the site in any way. Similar to banned members, but it will not state that they are banned. Since they have not been banned for violating any board guidelines, their account has simply been deactivated by users request or, in my scenario, also by any abuse complaints from Hotmail.
- Deactivating a users account makes it where they will never receive any e-mails from the site. Bulk or automated. An exception might be made for the reactivation process.
- Other site members will not be able to view deactivated users profile or send them private messages. They will get a message stating the users account has been deactivated when trying to access their profile.
- A settings tab could be added for deactivating. It will offer a full explanation on what account deactivation means, how they can reactivate later if they wish, and so on and so forth. This is basically similar to the standard deactivation process most social networks now offer.