17 replies to this topic

#1 Oh my Jordan

Oh my Jordan

IPB Newbie

• Visitors
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 30 May 2012 - 04:49 AM

I've been using Xenforo Since December 2011 and after the glitz of it all wears off, I am like wow....I'm missing some key features I had on Free softwares.

Stuff like Global Announcements. Don't get me wrong, out of the 3 big softwares i feel like Xenforo is the most modern looking and acting but it still just feels like beta to me at the same time.

So I am looking elsewhere.

I'm Interested in IPB...Because at this point, Xenforo is not able to be converted to Vbulletin.

Now I am a member of a few IPB style forums and I like the software. It may not have the glitz of a Xenforo forum with the Jquery but it does feel more robust and complete.

But there are modifications I use on Xenforo that are a must to have.

1. Portal
What is a good recommended portal? I know a Veteran software like this has to have an awesome portal or three :D

2. Tagging feature(Like twitter/fb)---Not Urgent but still cool

on Xenfro there is this awesome feature where you can tag members in a post using the @ sign ad it places their names in your post as well as an alert is sent to them.

My members totally abuse it but enjoy the fun part of it....makes the site less forumy and more social.

3. Like features
I see, like xenforo, there is a like function here.

Are there any mods that allow you to expand upon the like feature?
For example this is what i mean
http://xenforo.com/c...next-level.410/

It allows you to expand on the reason you click like by adding some funny emotes with it(Again another glitz feature)

4. Moderation

If i give my Admins access to the admin panel, could i give them access to certain things.
Like i want them to feel like they are able to do most things i can do(and thus i dont always have to do them) but i dont want them to have access to things like deleting the entire board OR channging skins.

5. Discouraged users