4 replies to this topic

#1 eyedog

eyedog

IPB Newbie

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 01 September 2012 - 10:49 PM

Hi guys. I am currently looking at getting ip.content for a number of reasons.

First off, let me give you some background. I currently host a gaming website for a group of people. I'm an electrical Engineer working with MEMS and control systems, so my programming experience is in MATLAB, LabVIEW, C, etc mostly for microcontrollers. I know php, MySQL, and html, but I mostly have to fiddle with it to get what I want. We are currently only around 200-300 members, so we are not too big. We are looking at expanding past the gallery module and the static forums.

Currently, we love the setup you guys have for IPB. It's awesome. We are currently looking at setting up a member list system (the background is all currently set up). We have people who are different "ranks" in the community. We have Leaders, Administrators, Moderators, Officers, etc. I have a system set up currently that will pull all the members, and their ranks rather nicely. The problem is that I have to use php code in order to fetch data to display.

We want to have a custom page appear in the navigation part of the header that says "Members." From what I have researched, you need ip.content to post php in custom pages (unless to spend money for an app). If I have to spend money for the app, I might as well pay for the whole thing. We have been talking about expanding the website past a simple forum system, and it sounds like this app will integrate well with everything. The only concern I have, is that the documentation made it seem like you can't rename the link for the page on the header bar. Is this true? I don't want to have to have users click twice in order to view the community master list.